• The Via Atlantica aligns the rail projects defined by the TEN-T (?) creating a high-performance coast-to-coast connection from the Atlantic to Eastern Europe.
  • Via Atlantica forms a true backbone of East-West links in Europe.
    A high-performance railway infrastructure will facilitate the passenger transport and offer the Atlantic ports genuine access to the European area.
  • Without Via Atlantica, the principal losers will be: Central France and the Atlantic Arc.
    The major spatial planning projects fail to include the populations of Eastern Europe and the Atlantic coastline.
The policy for the Trans-European Transport Network (TEN-T) aims to put in place infrastructures and interconnections that will serve as the basis for the single market, ensuring the free movement of people and goods and supporting growth, employment and competitiveness in the EU. These corridors will henceforth be the benchmark for the selection of projects to be co-financed by the EU in the future.
On 16 October 2013, the European Commission formalized the new map of the nine major corridors that will form the backbone of transport within the European single market and "will revolutionize East-West links as part of the most radical reform of EU policy on infrastructure since the single market began in the 80s", assured the institution.
TEN-T

A resolutely European rail project

Photo: Ludovic Fouché

The association's goal

's objective is to promote the creation of the Via Atlantica, a truly high-performance continuous East-West European, high-capacity, mixed (passenger and freight) railway axis, integrating the priority projects encompassed by the European Commission's Trans-European Transport Network. To do this, has the task of rallying the various stakeholders. Its French section is intended to link the Atlantic and Mediterranean corridors.

This scalable project is called Via Atlantica, Budapest - Atlantic coast from Caen to Lisbon via the North of the Massif Central.

Via Atlantica is defined as a two-branch "system".

  • Central European Branch (CEB) constituting a "railway bridge" between the Western Iberian Peninsula, via Bordeaux-Spain and Italy, Central Europe, via the Lyon-Turin line and the Rhine-Rhône TGV.
  • West Branch (WB) from Limoges to Nantes, Vannes/Rennes and Caen. The modernisation of the Rennes-Brest/Vannes-Quimper lines will integrate all of Brittany, which is currently excluded from the TEN-T, in this new network.

Via Atlantica will bring four SNIT projects (National Transport Infrastructure Plan) into alignment: Poitiers-Limoges , Paris-Orleans-Clermont-Lyon (POCL), East-West Bar (Lyon-Bordeaux and Lyon-Limoges-Nantes-Rennes-Caen/Brest/Quimper), and LNBPL (New Brittany - Pays de la Loire Line).

Characteristics of the link: The rail link will be at a speed to allow a significant modal shift from air and road to rail, accepting passengers and freight transport (mainly of containers). It is a tool for the energy transition and balanced spatial planning of the European territory.

Photo: Ludovic Fouché

Interests of the link

Currently, the map of the Commission's priority programmes does not mention any project being underway to effectively connect the Atlantic Arc to Italy, and Brittany to the Iberian Peninsula.

Via Atlantica satisfies the objectives of multiple public policies:

In fact, on a European scale, the Via Atlantica, a genuine backbone, would improve the consistency and homogeneity of the Union, facilitating the circulation of goods and passengers. It would lead the national railway networks to cooperate in order to ensure interoperability.

It is likely to contain or even reduce road and air transport, and consequently greenhouse gas emissions, to meet the European objective for reducing them by 60% before 2050. It therefore participates in tackling global warming. It also decreases the consumption of hydrocarbons and responds to concerns about energy efficiency with the shortcut between the Iberian Peninsula and Lyon, serving as a tool for our energy independence.

Via Atlantica will bring the Atlantic Arc closer to the large business areas of Central Europe and the Po Valley. The ports on the Atlantic Coast, in particular those of Brest, Nantes - St-Nazaire , La Rochelle, Bordeaux, Bilbao, Santander, Gijon, La Coruna, Vigo, and Aveiro will develop, as a result of the growth of their hinterland, with the inclusion of the Italian ports of Genoa, Venice and Trieste in the network.

Via Atlantica will open up the regions of the Western Iberian Peninsula, as well as Aquitaine and Lower Normandy, in tandem with the line linking Caen-Le Mans-Tours, Brittany, Pays de la Loire, Poitou-Charentes , Central France, Limousin, Auvergne, and the Rhône-Alpes region towards the West, and will serve as a tool for the economic development of the Northern part of the Massif Central.

The three traditional French transversal rail links - which the Via Atlantica will replace with fast inter-city connections (Rennes-Nantes-Lyon, Bordeaux-Lyon and Caen/Quimper-Rennes- Nantes-Bordeaux) - will continue to serve the territories' smaller stations?.

By creating a "network effect", the Via Atlantica will help improve the economic and financial profitability of the high-speed LGV lines of Rhine-Rhône, Lyon-Turin, Y Basque and the Spanish high-speed AVE lines to the West of the Iberian Peninsula.

The Via Atlantica will incorporate the airports located in the served territory into the network.

In addition, this transversal high-throughput rail connection will avoid transits through the Île de France region and the Rhone valley, where the infrastructures are congested, while generating operational and energy savings. This will be particularly the case for Iberian Peninsula - Northern Italy - Central Europe traffic.

Finally, the increased flows of passengers travelling by rail will allow air transport to be broadly redirected on intercontinental routes.

The Via Atlantica constitutes an advantageous complement to the Mediterranean corridor, especially with the natural extension of the Lyon-Turin line towards the Atlantic, allowing it to shed its dead end status.

The Via meets the three criteria necessary to qualify for official planning: intermodality, balanced spatial planning of the European territory and energy transition tool.

's action has been decisive for integrating the East-West Bar (art. 11 of Implementing Law for Grenelle 1 on the environment), through the design of the Via Atlantica, into the National Transport Infrastructure Plan (SNIT) project.

Photo: Luc Olivier

The Association's structure and organisation

Since September 2016, the association has been chaired by Jean-Claude Béchade.

The General Meeting is held once a year. The Board of Directors, which is elected by the General Meeting for three years, meets three times a year and may be consulted, in an emergency, when it is not in session, on any matter of importance.

Composition of the Board of Directors in September 2016:

  • Jacques Bernard, Vice-Chair of Rennes Métropole
  • Jean-François Mary, Chair of Pays de Redon
  • Thierry Benoît, Deputy of Ille-et-Vilaine
  • Bertrand Affilé, Vice-Chair of Nantes Métropole
  • Jean-Françoic Fountaine, Chair of the Urban Community of La Rochelle
  • Dominique Bussereau, Chair of General Council 17
  • Antoine Audi, Mayor of Périgueux
  • Daniel Dugléry, Chair of the Urban Community of Montluçon
  • François Rage, Clermont Communauté
  • Yves Nicollin, Chair of Grand Roanne
  • Jacques Auzou, Vice-Chair of General Council 24
  • Jean-Pierre Limousin, Chair of Haute-Vienne CCI
  • Jean-Pierre Lhospitallier, Chair of Montlucon CCI
  • Philippe Dutruc, Chair of Deux-Sèvres CCI
  • Jean-Claude BECHADE
  • Guillaume BERTRAND
  • Pascak BIRONNEAU
  • Ludovic FOUCHE
  • Maurice JEANNEAU
  • Antoine MENEGAUX
  • Jean-Marc MIGUET
  • Ronan VIEL

• La Via Atlantica met en cohérence les projets ferroviaires définis par le RTE-T (?) en reliant de façon performante la façade atlantique à l'est européen.
  • Avec la Via Atlantica, véritable épine dorsale des relations est-ouest en Europe.
    Une infrastructure ferroviaire performante facilitera le transport des voyageurs et offrira aux ports de l'Atlantique un réel accès à l'espace européen.
  • Sans la Via Atlantica, les principaux perdants : Cœur de France et Arc Atlantique.
    Les grands projets d'aménagement du territoire échouent à rapprocher les populations de l'est européen et celles de la façade atlantique.
La politique relative au réseau transeuropéen de transport (RTE-T) vise à mettre en place les infrastructures et les interconnexions qui servent de base au marché unique, afin d'assurer la libre circulation des personnes et des marchandises et de soutenir la croissance, l'emploi et la compétitivité dans l'UE. Ces corridors seront désormais la référence pour la sélection des projets qui seront à l’avenir cofinancés par l'UE.
La Commission européenne a officialisé, le 16 octobre 2013, la nouvelle carte des neuf principaux corridors qui formeront la charpente des transports au sein du marché unique européen et qui "révolutionneront les liaisons est-ouest dans le cadre de la réforme de la politique de l'UE en matière d'infrastructures la plus radicale depuis ses débuts dans les années 80", assure l’institution.
RTE-T

Un projet ferroviaire résolument européen

Photo : Ludovic Fouché

Objectif de l’association

a pour objectif de promouvoir la création d’un véritable axe ferroviaire européen continu est-ouest performant, Via Atlantica, à grande capacité, mixte (voyageurs et fret) intégrant les projets prioritaires inscrits au programme des Réseaux Trans-Européens de Transport de la Commission Européenne. Pour ce faire, a pour mission de fédérer les différents acteurs. Sa section française est destinée à relier les corridors Atlantique et Méditerranéen.

Ce projet, conçu comme évolutif, est dénommé Via Atlantica, Budapest – façade atlantique de Caen à Lisbonne via le Nord du Massif Central.

La Via Atlantica se définit comme un « système » à deux branches.

  • Branche Centrale Européenne (BCE) constituant un « pont ferroviaire » entre la Péninsule ibérique occidentale, via le Bordeaux-Espagne, et l'Italie, l'Europe Centrale, via le Lyon-Turin et le TGV Rhin-Rhône.
  • Branche Ouest (BO) de Limoges vers Nantes, Vannes/Rennes et Caen,. La modernisation des lignes Rennes-Brest/Vannes-Quimper permet d’intégrer la totalité de la Bretagne, aujourd'hui exclue des RTE-T, à ce nouveau réseau ainsi constitué.

C'est la mise en cohérence de quatre projets du SNIT (Schéma National des Infrastructures de Transport) : Poitiers-Limoges, Paris-Orléans-Clermont-Lyon (POCL), Barreau Est-Ouest (Lyon-Bordeaux et Lyon-Limoges-Nantes-Rennes-Caen/Brest/Quimper), et LNBPL (Ligne Nouvelle Bretagne Pays de Loire).

Caractéristiques de la liaison : Il s’agit d’une liaison ferroviaire à une vitesse qui permette un report modal significatif de l'aérien et de la route vers le rail, acceptant le transport de voyageurs et de fret, principalement de containers. C'est un outil de la transition énergétique et de l'aménagement équilibré du territoire européen.

Photo : Ludovic Fouché

Intérêts de la liaison

Actuellement, la carte des programmes prioritaires de la Commission ne mentionne aucun projet en cours pour relier, de manière performante, l’Arc Atlantique à l’Italie et la Bretagne à la Péninsule ibérique.

La Via Atlantica répond aux objectifs de multiples politiques publiques :

En effet, à l’échelle européenne, la Via Atlantica, véritable épine dorsale, renforcerait la cohérence et l’homogénéité de l’Union en facilitant la circulation des marchandises et des voyageurs. Elle conduirait les réseaux ferroviaires nationaux à coopérer pour assurer l’interopérabilité.

Elle est de nature à contenir, voire à faire diminuer, les trafics routier et aérien et donc les émissions de gaz à effet de serre pour rencontrer l'objectif européen de leur réduction de 60% à l'horizon 2050. Elle participe ainsi à la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique. Elle diminue également la consommation d’hydrocarbures et répond au souci d'efficacité énergétique avec le raccourci entre la Péninsule ibérique et Lyon en étant aussi un outil de notre indépendance énergétique.

La Via Atlantica favorisera le rapprochement de l’Arc Atlantique avec les grandes zones d’activités de l’Europe centrale et de la plaine du Pô. Les ports de la côte Atlantique, en particulier ceux de Brest, Nantes – St-Nazaire, La Rochelle, Bordeaux, Bilbao, Santander, Gijon, La Corogne, Vigo, Aveiro... se développeront sous l’effet de l’accroissement de leur hinterland avec la mise en réseau des ports italiens de Gênes, Venise et Trieste.

La Via Atlantica désenclavera les régions de la Péninsule ibérique occidentale mais aussi l'Aquitaine, la Basse-Normandie en complémentarité avec la ligne Caen-Le Mans-Tours , la Bretagne, les Pays de la Loire, le Poitou-Charentes, le Centre, le Limousin, l’Auvergne, ainsi que la région Rhône Alpes vers l’ouest, et sera l’outil du développement économique de la partie nord du Massif central.

Les trois liaisons ferroviaires transversales traditionnelles françaises -auxquelles elle se substituera pour les liaisons rapides intermétopoles (Rennes-Nantes-Lyon, Bordeaux-Lyon et Caen/Quimper-Rennes-Nantes-Bordeaux)- continueront à assurer une desserte fine des territoires.

En créant un « effet réseau », la Via Atlantica contribuera à améliorer la rentabilité économique et financière des LGV Rhin-Rhône, Lyon – Turin, Y basque et lignes AVE de l'ouest de la Péninsule ibérique.

La Via Atlantica mettra en réseau les aéroports concernés par le territoire desservi.

Par ailleurs, cette liaison ferroviaire transversale à haut débit évitera des transits par la région Ile de France et le sillon rhodanien dont les infrastructures sont congestionnées, tout en générant des économies d’exploitation et d’énergie. Ce sera notamment le cas du trafic Péninsule ibérique – Italie du Nord - Europe Centrale.

Enfin, l’accroissement des flux de voyageurs empruntant le rail permettra de réorienter largement le transport aérien sur les liaisons intercontinentales.

La Via Atlantica constitue une complémentarité avantageuse au corridor méditerranéen avec notamment la prolongation naturelle vers l'Atlantique du Lyon-Turin qui permet à ce denier d'échapper à la condition de cul-de-sac.

Elle répond aux trois critères nécessaires pour faire l’objet d’une planification officielle : intermodalité, aménagement équilibré du territoire européen et outil de la transition énergétique..

L'action d' a été déterminante pour inscrire le Barreau Est-Ouest (art.11 Loi relative à la mise en oeuvre du Grenelle I de l'environnement) et l’intégrer, dans la conception Via Atlantica, au projet du Schéma National des Infrastructures de Transport (SNIT).

Photo : Luc Olivier

Structure et organisation de l'Association

L’association est présidée, depuis septembre 2012, par Jean-Michel Guerre, Vice-Président du Conseil Régional d’Auvergne.

L’Assemblée Générale se tient une fois par an. Le Conseil d’administration élu pour trois ans par l’Assemblée Générale, est réuni trois fois par an et consulté, en urgence, hors sessions, sur tout sujet d’importance.

Sont notamment membres de l’association , en dehors des adhérents individuels :

  • Les Conseils Régionaux Auvergne, Limousin, Rhône-Alpes
  • Les Conseils Généraux de l’Allier, Charente-Maritime, Creuse, Dordogne, d'Ille et Vilaine, Loire, Maine et Loire, Puy de Dôme, Haute-Vienne
  • Les Communautés d’agglomération/urbaines de Bordeaux, Caen, Clermont-Ferrand, Limoges, Montluçon, Nantes, Poitiers, Rennes, Riom, Roanne, la Rochelle, Vannes, Vichy
  • Les Communautés de Communes de Commentry-Néris les Bains, Fougères, Guéret-St Vaury, Pontivy Communauté
  • Les villes de Clermont-Ferrand et Périgueux,
  • Le Pays du Bocage bressuirais, le Pays de Redon et le Pays de Gâtine.
  • La Chambre Régionale de Commerce et d’Industrie d’Auvergne
  • Les CCI de Clermont-Ferrand, Limoges, Montluçon, Niort, Rochefort, Roanne
  • Le Port de La Rochelle
  • ...

Composition du conseil d’administration en avril 2015 :

  • Jacques Bernard, Vice-Président Rennes Métropole
  • Jean-François Mary, Président du Pays de Redon
  • Thierry Benoît, Député d'Ille et Vilaine
  • Bertrand Affilé, Vice-Président de Nantes Métropole
  • Jean-Françoic Fountaine, Président de la cda de La Rochelle
  • Dominique Bussereau, Président du Conseil Général 17
  • Antoine Audi, Maire de Périgueux
  • Gilles Pailler, Vice-Président du Conseil Régional Limousin
  • Daniel Dugléry, Président de la cda montluçonnaise
  • Jean-Michel Guerre, Vice-Président Conseil Régional d'Auvergne
  • François Rage, Clermont Communauté
  • Yves Nicollin, Président du Grand Roanne
  • Jacques Auzou, Vice-Président du Conseil Général 24
  • Jean-Pierre Limousin, Président CCI Haute-Vienne
  • Jean-Pierre Lhospitallier, Président de la CCI de Montluçon
  • Philippe Dutruc, Président CCI Deux-Sèvres
  • Jean-Claude BECHADE
  • Guillaume BERTRAND
  • Pascak BIRONNEAU
  • Ludovic FOUCHE
  • Maurice JEANNEAU
  • Antoine MENEGAUX
  • Jean-Marc MIGUET
  • Ronan VIEL